Discouragement

Since I know that no one even reads this blog I think it’s safe to talk openly.  I am so discouraged.  Got a buddy from church yesterday who spent most of the day telling me how dirty and smelly my plane was.  This was discouraging.  He did help me time my magnetos which was helpful.  He also took off some inspection panels which is also helpful.  He also noticed some cracking in the trailing edge of my left hand elevator.  This was discouraging.  He got sick when I took him flying.  Also discouraging.  Not that his sickness was my fault but discouraging none the less. 

 On a personal note, most of my friends are non-believers.  This is discouraging.  Most of the good, Godly people I go to church with are not my friends.  This is discouraging.  The non-believers I hang with treat me better than the good, Godly people I go to church with.  This is discouraging.  Events have piled up this past week in such a way as to be discouraging to me.

My only hope: prayer.

6 thoughts on “Discouragement

  1. The Flying Dutchman

    Yeah I did. Part of being somewhat creative is having the mood swings. Praise God that He always pulls me out of that darkness.

    Talking about electric flaps… I had them and then pulled them out, for good! The motor on mine got gummed up 3 times in less than 6 months. The third and last time it started to make smoke! I pulled the whole shooting match out and went to a digital/manual flap system. What’s digital/manual you ask? That’s a two-position flap lever. Full 30 degrees or 0 degrees. On, or off. Them’s the choices. 🙂

  2. David H

    I try to think of what Jesus had to go thru when is disciples were constantly “seeking the highest place” and expressing sentiments held by His enemies. Then at the end to forsake him, his leading disciple to openly deny Him with cursing and swearing during the most trying hours of his life. I’m glad he went through it so we don’t have too.

    I believe one of the greatest trials in the Christian life is to have professed Christians be so “un-Christlike”. Some of the worst crimes in the world have been done by professed followers of God. (#1 Christ’s crucifixion, #2 The dark ages) We expect so much, after all these people “believe the truth!” We have no excuse for being un-Christlike. We need to be converted. When that happens I am convinced that we will have love one for another and be in unity. It will be a powerful witness to the world that can not be controverted. (See John 17) When men of varying backgrounds and dispositions have love one for another. It will be like heaven. Let’s have a little bit of heaven here to start. Half the battle is to not let what other people do bother us. (Easier said than done).

  3. The Flying Dutchman

    Very true. Unfortunately the church doesn’t have much better a track record than the rest of the world. Same or higher divorce rate, incarceration rate, you name the bad thing the world does and Christians are right there with them. Jesus speaks to this when He says that “Not everyone who calls Me Lord, Lord, will enter into the kingdom of heaven.”

    So what seperates those Christians who consistently seek after God, who continue strive to be holy because God is holy?

  4. David H

    That will be an interesting discussion. “Where does God draw the line?” And how can we know which side we are on? The verse you are referring too, says “he that does the will of my Father in Heaven.” But in Matthew Jesus says, “Many shall say to me in that day, Lord, Lord, ………….” Matt 7:21-23 and this give us a clue. Why does Jesus say “in that day” that he does not know them? How can we know if we know the Lord? We might know all about him. But do we really “know” him.

  5. The Flying Dutchman

    “That day” has always meant judgement day to me. This verse is the flip side of Matt 25:37 where the (truly, not self-) righteous ask, “Lord, when did we see you hungry … thirsty … a stranger … naked … in prison?” Jesus answers, “Truly I say to you, to the extent that you did it to one of these brothers of Mine, even the least of them, you did it to Me.” NASB Which is why I don’t agree with hyper-Calvinists. If our faith is not accompanied by works, we are calling Jesus, “Lord” but not doing the will of our Father. Those people will be shuffled off to eternal punishment.

Leave a Reply

