Phase 1 Flying–26.2 hours

Had a great flight this morning; no squawks and my airspeed indicator problem seems to be mostly fixed.  It’s reading within 5 mph of my actual airspeed which is close enough. No, really.

For the first time in weeks the air was truly calm so I took the opportunity to fly a sawtooth pattern of climbs and descents.  I’ll enter that data into a spreadsheet and plot it.  I’ll be able to use the data plots to find the aircraft’s Vx and Vy speeds.  Vx is the best angle of climb, this is the speed that gets you the most altitude over a given distance.  Vy is the best rate of climb, this is the speed that will give you the most altitude over the shortest time span.  I have a few more flights to gather the data I need tabulated.  Determining Vx and Vy is the last of the formal flight tests I need to conduct.  After that I’m just flying off the time until I get to 40 hours.

Here are a couple of pictures from this morning’s flight…

2011-05-30_08-19-43_912

 

2011-05-30_08-19-57_37

Leave a Reply

