Almost Blown Takeoff

I decided to get in a quick flight before church this morning.  I made my way out to New J and found a couple other PPG guys out there and a hot air balloon.   Should have been a nice easy takeoff but it was a little crowded.  I should have moved farther down the runway.  I should have oriented more into the wind.  I should have a lot of things.  Don’t worry, nothing bad happened.  My pride got a little bent but nothing else.

As I was taking off my wing started to oscillate.  Rather than slow down and dampen it properly I fell back on my fixed wing roots and gave it full power.  I got off the ground but it wasn’t pretty.  So I need to go back to New J and just do some taxi practice.

If a picture is worth a thousand words then a video is worth a million…

Leave a Reply

